Saturday, October 21, 2006

Meic Stevens - Rain In The Leaves (1967-1970)

This haunting collection proves once and for all why Meic Stevens is so often called 'the Welsh Bob Dylan'. As well as gathering for the first time the ultra-rare EPs he recorded between 1967 and 1970 (Mike Stevens, Rhif 2, Mwg and Meic Stevens), the package comes complete with both sides of his 1965 debut single, detailed sleevenotes, rare photographs and an introduction by the man himself, making it an essential purchase for all fans of acid folk and psychedelia.-Sunbeam Records-
"A legendary folksinger who's been called 'the Welsh Dylan', in the late 60s he recorded a series of ultra-rare Welsh-language psych-folk EPs." - The Tapestry Of Delights
"The psych-folk singer and guitarist is often referred to as the Welsh Dylan, and compared favourably with fellow astral-travellers like Syd Barrett. He continues to perform in Wales, where he is treated as a national hero" - (

Track list

1. Did I Dream?
2. I Saw A Field
3. Yr Eryr a'r Golomen (The Eagle And The Dove)
4. Ble Mae'r Bore? (Where's The Morning?)
5. Ond Dof Yn Ôl (But I Shall Return)
6. Tryweryn
7. Cân Walter (Walter's Song)
8. Hwiangerdd Mihangel (Michael's Lullaby)
9. Glaw yn y Dail (Rain In The Leaves)
10. Lan a Lawr (Up And Down)
11. Mwg (Smoke)
12. Rhedaf i'r Mynydd (I Run To The Mountain
13. Myfi yw'r Dechreuad (I Am The Beginning)
14. Tyrd i Lawr i'r Ogof (Come Down Through The Cave)
15. Mynd i Bala ar y Cwch Banana (Going To Bala On The Banana Boat)
16. Nid y Fi yw'r Un i Ofyn Pam (Not For Me To Ask The Reason Why)
17. Mae Gennyf i Gariad (I've Got A Love)
18. Dim Ond Heddiw Ddoe ac Fory (Only Today, Yesterday and Tomorrow)19. Cân Mamgu (Grandmother's Song)

Bitrate 320

Rain in the Leaves

Friday, October 20, 2006

Susan Christie - Paint A Lady (1970 )

Previously unreleased Psychedelic Folk album from 1970 by Susan Christie, a Philly based sophomore folk singer who had one novelty hit for a major label in the late '60s. This album, which featured her psychedelic take on Country standards and hand crafted tales of inner-city solitude backed by a Folk-Funk rhythm section, was not considered commercially viable and shelved...until now! Uber-legend John Hill produced the album which features 8 tracks including a 12 minute 'drugsploitation' epic called 'Yesterday - Where's My Mind' featuring Susan flipping vocal styles between Janis Joplin and Margo Guryan. Finders Keepers. 2006.

1. Rainy Day
2. Paint a Lady
3. For the Love of a Soldier
4. Ghost Riders in the Sky
5. Yesterday Where's My Mind
6. Echo in My Mind
7. When Love Comes
8. No One Can Hear You Cry

Paint a Lady [UK-Import]